Rating:

Natural Resource Stewardship and Science Monthly Webinars

Kristy Burnett
Primary contact: Kristy Burnett
Where: Online
December 9, 2020

Overview

The Natural Resource Stewardship and Science (NRSS) monthly webinar series shares information about the work NRSS is doing, what’s happening in the field of science and natural resources, and how you can get involved.

Upcoming Webinars

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)

November 18, 2020
3:00 pm EST / 2:00 pm CST / 1:00 pm MST / 12:00 pm PST
Presented by Tracy Thompson and Allie Petersen

Animals, both wild and domestic, play an important role in all our parks in a variety of ways. When live animals are used to educate the public, interpret relevant park history, or in research activities aimed toward conservation and management goals, there are federal laws and policies that regulate how those animals can be used and which set standards for the care and welfare of these animals. This presentation will provide the background on federal animal welfare laws and policies that may apply to animals used in the NPS, will explain how compliance with these regulations is accomplished, and what role parks, regions, and networks have in ensuring animal welfare meets or exceeds the standards we are expected to follow. Finally, it will introduce the NPS Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (NPS IACUC), explain what its role and responsibilities in helping protect animal welfare and those engaged with animal use in NPS units, and provide resources for clarifications and questions.

Operationalizing Resilience and Resistance Concepts for Conservation of Sagebrush Ecosystems in US National Parks

December 2, 2020
11:00 am EST / 10:00 am CST / 9:00 am MST / 8:00 am PST
Presented by Tom Rodhouse and Jeff Lonneker

Western North American sagebrush shrublands and steppe face accelerating risks from fire-driven feedback loops that push these ecosystems into self-reinforcing states dominated by invasive annual grasses. In response, sagebrush conservation decision-making is increasingly done through the lens of resilience to fire and invasion resistance. Operationalizing resilience and resistance concepts requires place-based understanding of resilience and resistance variation across landscapes and over time. This is particularly important for prioritizing conservation in targeted areas of significance such as parks and protected areas. We review the sagebrush ecosystems resilience and resistance framework and describe how it is being applied in parks. We synthesize information generated from vital signs monitoring and supporting research and from a focused condition assessment. We outline gaps in knowledge and capacity and important next steps, including efforts to integrate sagebrush steppe resource protection into fire management operations. Our assessment establishes the precarious importance of the US national park system to sagebrush ecosystem conservation and we establish the strategic foundation for more collaborative and effective protection and restoration.

Preliminary Air Quality Oil & Gas Results

December 9, 2020
3:00 pm EST / 2:00 pm CST / 1:00 pm MST / 12:00 pm PST
Presented by Tony Prenni

Estimated Completion Time

1 Hour/s

Notes

Past Webinars

Missed a webinar you were interested in? For recordings of past presentations, visit the archive (scroll down).

Past webinars have featured such diverse topics as:

  • Acoustic Characteristics of Commonly Used Roadway Surface Treatments
  • Three Big Challenges in Science Communication, and What to Do About Them
  • Managing Invasive Species in Parks
  • WIN-WIN: NRSS Internships and Parks
  • The Paperwork Reduction Act: OMB Submissions for Beginners
  • Clean Air and Clear Views...Are we there yet?
  • Introduction to Traditional Ecological Knowledge in Wildlife Conservation

Most archived webinars are between 50 and 60 minutes long.

Write a Review

Arrow pointing upwards. Click this icon to go back to the top of the page.